The Darien Tax Collector's Office provides billing and collection of real estate, personal property, motor vehicle and sewer service charges, and special assessment billings. Taxes are billed and collected semi-annually on real estate and annually on motor vehicles, and personal property. Supplemental Motor Vehicle tax bills are due on January 1st and payable by February 1st.  Sewer service charges are billed annually in October.  If the original amount of the bill is $500 or more, the bill will be automatically split into two installments with the 1st being due October 1st and the 2nd April 1st.  Otherwise the bill is due in full October 1st.  

Please note the following: If you move, you are required to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles and the Assessor's Office within 48 hours of the change. If you no longer own your vehicle, you should cancel your registration, return your plates to the nearest DMV office, and obtain a plate receipt from DMV. The plate receipt, or other proof of vehicle disposition, must be submitted to the Assessor's Office in order to delete or prorate any tax bill. If you are missing a tax bill, or we do not have your current address, please contact the Tax Collector's office. Failure to receive a tax bill does not invalidate the tax or interest due on the tax. Connecticut General Statutes do not grant Tax Collectors the authority to waive interest.

Delinquent motor vehicle taxes: If you require a DMV release, be aware that payment by credit and debit cards will take business days; payment by check is business days. If you need to be cleared faster than the aforementioned time frame, payment should be made in the Darien Tax Office by cash, money order, or certified check. Payment over the phone is no longer accepted.

View All FAQs


Payments may be delivered to the Tax Collector's Office, Room 104, Darien Town Hall, 2 Renshaw Road, Darien CT during regular office hours:

Monday through Thursday
8 am to 5:15 pm



Go to the Darien Connecticut website.

Click on: "How Do I?", "Submit", "View/Pay Tax & Sewer Bills", "Proceed to Site", "I Agree", follow remaining prompts. A non-refundable fee is charged for this service as detailed below:

  • ACH (Electronic) Check - $1.50 
  • Credit Card (American Express, Visa, MasterCard, Discover) - 2.5% with a $2 minimum 
  • Debit Card (American Express, Visa, MasterCard, Discover) $3.50 flat fee 

Fee Charges

  • Reprint of Tax Bill - $2 Per Bill
  • Return Check Fee - $20
  • Delinquent MV Fee - $3
  • Collection Fee - 15%