Architectural Review Board


Town Code authorizing Architectural Review Board:
Sec. 54-81. - Established; appointment and selection; vacancies.

  1. The town does hereby create the architectural review board which shall consist of seven regular members and three alternate members to be appointed by the board of selectmen. Regular members and alternates shall serve for a four-year term commencing on July 1 of the year of their appointment.
  2. Members and alternates shall be selected based upon their competence in matters of design, such as architects, designers, planners, or landscape architects, but other qualified electors may also be selected.
  3. The board of selectmen shall have the power to remove any regular member or alternate for cause and fill any vacancy in the board for the remainder of the term.

(Code 1972, § 41-6; Ord. of March 20, 1989)

Materials for pending applications and recent reports have been posted to ViewPoint.

Channel 79 occasionally records meetings, including public hearings; a link to those videos is Darien TV79's Vimeo.

To contact the Architectural Review Board, you can email Architectural Review Board.


  • 7:00 p.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday of every month except in August and December
  • Town Hall
    Room 119

Detailed agendas are posted the Thursday afternoon before a meeting date in the Agenda Center and on the Town Calendar.


  • Liz Geiger, Chairman (R)
    Term Expires: June 30, 2023
  • Cheryl Greene (R)
    Term Expires: June 30, 2024
  • David Humphrey
    Term Expires: June 30, 2025
  • Anna Janis (R)
    Term Expires: June 30, 2025
  • Alexandra Lopatynsky (U)
    Term Expires: June 30, 2021
  • Rebecca Morrison (U)
    Term Expires: June 30, 2021

All these members have 4-year terms.


  • Sean Brown (R)
    Term Expires: June 30, 2025
  • Christina Hart (U)
    Term Expires: June 30, 2027
  • David Reilly (D)
    Term Expires: June 30, 2023

Ex-Officio Members:

  • Edward L. Gentile Jr., P.E., Director of Public Works
  • Jon Zagrodzky, First Selectman
  • Michael Vitti, Chief Building Official