Our Form of Government

The chief elected official for the Town of Darien is the First Selectman, Monica McNally, Town Hall, 2 Renshaw Road, Room 202.   Phone: 203-656-7338.

Darien has the Representative Town Meeting (RTM) form of Government.

The legislative powers of the Town of Darien are vested in the Representative Town Meeting. The RTM is composed of 100 members representing the Town's six districts. The number of representatives from each district is determined annually by a flexible formula based on elector apportionment. Each member represents approximately 100 registered voters.

There are four other independent but interrelated major elected governmental components - the Board of Selectmen, the Planning and Zoning Commission, the Board of Finance, and the Board of Education.

Other elected officials include the Board of Assessment Appeals, the Judge of Probate, and the Justices of the Peace (PDF).

The Town Administrator is appointed by the Board of Selectmen and oversees the daily operations of the town offices.

The Code of Ordinances and the Charter are available for reference under the Town Code tab found listed to the right. Hard copies are available for review at the Library and in the Selectmen's Office.

Town Departmental and Committee meeting schedules may be found on the Department or Committee page, town calendar, or by referring to the site navigation link - Darien Government - Meeting Schedules, Agendas, and Minutes.